Modified 2017 PRS Mark Holcomb SE

Discussion in 'Electric Instruments' started by Jwyoung808, Feb 11, 2018.

  1. Jwyoung808

    Jwyoung808 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Finally completed all the appropriate modifications to my Holcomb SE. First I switched out the tuners to Schaller M6 locking tuners, which were pretty much a direct fit. I then swapped out the nut for a Graph Tech Tusq, which I had a professionally installed and set up, this resolved all tuning issues I previously had. Then I put on Hipshot o-ring knobs (the same ones Mark has), an official PRS pickup selector (same as the core models), and of course black strap locks by Dunlop. Set up for Cleartone Heavy Series 10-52 gauge strings. Absolutely in love with this guitar now. Pickups are flawless, from sparkly bell like cleans to the snarly bite that Holcomb is known for. Push/pull coil split is incredibly useful. If you’re on the fence, buy it and I promise you won’t regret it. Most of the mods are to my taste, but I believe changing the nut and tuners are a must. The nut it came with is quite cheap, and doesn't allow for the guitar's natural harmonics to come through, but they had to cut costs somehow to get it in an $899 price point. All that’s left is swapping the tuner buttons to an ebony buttons and it’ll be completed. Feel free to ask any questions! :D

    As far as the amp it's being played through, I have an EVH 5150 III 50 watt head, and a Mesa vertical 2x12. Perfect combo in my opinion, with this guitar and amp I get an almost exact replica of Mark's tone. Will post clips soon!
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    #1 Jwyoung808, Feb 11, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
    Maertl513 and Ovibos like this.
  2. andy474x

    andy474x Knows the Drill

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Me: What in the world could this guy possibly need to mod on a Holcomb OH MY GOSH HE NAILED IT

    Wise choices my man.
     
    Jwyoung808 likes this.
  3. Jwyoung808

    Jwyoung808 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the kind words brother, finally figured out how to add pics!
     
  4. Ovibos

    Ovibos NOW with 100% MORE baby tigers!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    Very nice. Gonna do the nut on mine - which model nut did you use? Is got that extra flat radius...

    Another mod I'd consider on mine is the volume pot. It's super high resistance to turn.
     
  5. Jwyoung808

    Jwyoung808 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    I actually bought a black Graph Tech Tusq 43x6 nut, someone suggested it on another forum and it worked out great. The original nut just deadened my tone and sent my strings out of tune way too often. I gave it to my local guitar tech to handle and it came out flawless. I actually prefer it over the PRS nut that my s2 has.

    But as far as a volume pot, that’s not a bad idea! One day I plan on getting into the electronics but have to wait for more funds.
     
  6. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13,398
    Likes Received:
    14,250
    Lookin' good!
     
    Jwyoung808 likes this.
  7. AxlGianne

    AxlGianne New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I replaced stock tuners with Schaller M6 me too
     
  8. TimD

    TimD Waldo5150

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Very Nice
     
  9. arres

    arres New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    I’m trying to determine if the volume has too much resistance or the tone has too little? Either way, the pots feel a little cheap, along with the switch, which OP changed out. I think I would replace the pots and switch altogether, personally. But the nut and tuners are number one priority. Soon, I hope!
     
  10. arres

    arres New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is this the exact set of tuners you got?

    http://www.upcitemdb.com/upc/4036641063131

    And did you have to drill at all? I read a comment where the user said the screws which came with the tuners were a little wider and required some finish removal? Could you just re-use the stock screws?

    Also, your pics don't show up for me :(
     
  11. Michael Heaton

    Michael Heaton New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did almost exactly the same upgrades except I used Grover locking tuners because they were readily available, I also ordered a black bridge so all the hardware would just be straight up black instead of that like "Cosmo black" that the finish was wearing off of.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice