\m/ vs. 59/09 pickups?

halasghost

Hey, y'all! I'm the proud new owner of a 1990 CE24 that I bought off ebay. It's well used, but in decent condition for a 25 year old guitar. The pickups on the other hand are pretty mucked up with corrosion (sound is fine) and really mess with my ego and detract from the sweet looks of this beast. Anyone out there have experience with both the \m/ and 59/09 pickups? I play mostly metal but dabble in some classic rock and pop. I'm a rank amateur so my personal experience is extremely limited and naive, so if you tell me a polish sausage tied with chicken wire will do the trick, I'll likely believe you. I place my future in your hands. Help me spend my money so I can sound cool and look awesome doing it!

Last edited:
I've got the polish sausage and chicken wire in mine and it sounds great :biggrin:

Jokes aside I've been looking at replacing pick ups in my CE too, and although I've not owned either I've watched about every youtube video containing either of these two pick ups. personally I'm going to go for the \m/ as I think they gave the a better tone in drop tuning which I use a lot of when playing metal.

I have both sets. The 59/09's can certainly do metal and can do any other genre .
The /m\ pickups are a little hotter and are still a very versatile pickup.

Never forget the Tremonti pickups either, very hot and versatile

I have both sets as well. I dig the Metal pickups in my CU24 Floyd. They tend to be a little on the dark side to my ears but that compliments the guitar (maple neck/ebony board). You can easily get good classic rock tones out of them with the right amp.

Thanks for the input! I put in an order for the 59/09's. I figured I might be best served by going with the middle ground considering that lately I've been branching out to a lot more than heavy riffs and crunchy tones.