Lost Guitarist?

thesuperzman

Ok guitarist 25 years looking to be better
Hey gang,

I'm a bit of a lost guitarist, I think. I'm the proud new owner of a Silver Sky (among other guitars) and finally reached my frustration level of not being a better player and taking advantage beautiful new instrument. I wanted to post for advice and sounding board:

I've been playing for over 25 years now. And believe it or not, despite playing a little bit almost every day, I still consider myself a low-intermediate. Or that's what I've always believe. The reality is that I think my weaknesses are:

1) Lack of rhythm. Partly never focused on it and partly never playing with anyone (because when I do I wasn't very good and not confident ash this point).

2) Spotty knowledge and technique with a lack of cohesion. Meaning, my fingers can move confidently, I understand basic basic theory, and can cobble together something that resemblers a competent solo at times.

3) I'm sure since I learned on my own, my fundamental skills may be flawed (for instance, I'm just learning now that I should try to avoid my pinky when bending?? Who knew).

Anyway - that's my background. What I'm trying to do is figure out how the heck to improve. It's daunting. I've tried some instructors and they treat me like a beginner trying to teach me an A cord again or the pentatonic scale. I mean, remedial is fine, but understand your student. I tried online classes, but can't figure out - do I focus on beginner lessons to rebuild the foundation, theory, licks, advanced skills for improvising? I start down the path and then realize there are even more gaps in what I don't know.

Am I being too hard on myself? Probably not. Do I, and where, do I find an instructor that can deal with a unique guitarist like me (or am I not that rare?). If I do it on my own or online courses - where should I start?