Looking for small SS/modeling amp suggestions

thx712517

I've got a Vox AC4C1-12 as my sole amp right now. It's beautiful when it's got gain and volume up around noon or higher, but with a small child in the house and less than happy neighbors, I'm playing it with volume and gain just a hair off of zero. Playing it at that low volume it sounds thin and blah, I assume because I'm not driving the tubes or working the speaker.

So I'm contemplating a solid state amplifier or a modeling amp on the assumption that, lacking tubes, it will still put out a lively sound rather than sterile and anemic at low volumes. I'm throwing in the modeling amp option because my SE Standard 24 has the coil split option which gives it a lot of versatility, and I'm interested in the idea of an amp being a Vox or a Fender or what have you by turning a knob. The Katana Mini looks like an interesting option for a small quiet amp, but I'm new to solid state amplifiers. Are there others I should be looking at?

How small? The Katana Air is small and has a wireless in it, but pricy.

I use a Katana 100 combo for everything, and play at home at 0.5watts while the kids are sleeping.

It really depends on budget, type/style etc.

The Boss Katana 50 or 100 can both be turned down to 0.5w modes and come with a variety of Amp sounds like Clean, Crunch, Brown etc and if you go for MkII versions, you get 2 versions of each of these - it also includes an option for Acoustic guitars too. They come with a variety of effects built in as well and you can use an App to swap the FX out for others. These are probably the best you can buy if you want something that also looks like an Amp, can be used to go from Bedroom to Gig and also the cheapest option.