Kfir Ochaion

Mom #1

I found this guy that does electric fuitar covers. I don't think he has a prs but I had a question. Could a prs achieve a sound like this? Also I just wanted to share his amaxing talent : ) Sorry I'm a newbie.

Newbies are ok in my book. You gotta start somewhere and starting with a PRS is pretty smart.

To your question (can a PRS achieve a sound like that). The short answer is "yes".

The long answer takes a little more explanation. Let's first talk about what is going on in the video. There isn't just one sound there, or maybe better put, there are more than one guitar making the sounds you hear. Can you hear a difference in the tone from each of the guitars being used? Many of those new to guitar cannot. Many of us not so new to guitar probably cannot either because there is more going on here than just what the guitar is doing. His signal is highly processed. He's got pedals he is using to get that sound, and the pedals are masking the subtle differences in guitar tone. So your questions probably has more to do with the amp and pedals he is using than brand of guitar.

Still, you see in the video that he plays two different Strats and two different Les Pauls. Each one of those guitars will have a somewhat different tone. If you don't hear much of a difference in tone when he shows a different guitar in the video then his tone has more to do with the amp and pedals than with the guitar (assuming the audio comes from the guitar in the video). As evidenced by his use of 4 guitars, most any guitar will get the tone he is using if you process it through a similar signal chain. The tubes and lights on the amps in the video do not appear to be on, and the cable to the guitar is different from the cable into the amps, so I'm going to guess that he is getting his tone from a modeling software.