Johnny Hiland Model

settecorde76

Hi everybody! I’m Fabrizio from Italy and I’m new in this forum. I’m also new in the PRS family, because I have bought my first PRS a few days ago. It’s a Johnny Hiland Model (discontinued) made in 2008; it’s not only beautiful but also versatile and very good sounding. I’m in love with it! It’s blue with an astonishing maple top.
Please, can you tell more about it? How many were produced and for how many years? Does it have a 10Top or not?
Thank you so much for your support, guys! ;-)

Dang, I just looked up what that model is, and it is nice!

I have no idea whether/how PRS marked these for 10 top grading. For Cu22/Cu24s, etc, it is done by putting a "10" on the back of the headstock in the upper right corner, but that may not be what they did with these.

It looks like these were produced from 2006 through 2009 (or maybe early 2010).

Can you post pictures (link to a photo site like Flickr or Photobucket)?

I just read a posting on another site that had Johnny Hiland's press release statement about how he and PRS parted ways. I suspect that is what happens to many of the artist endorsement models that PRS makes: the artists gets some exposure through PRS, PRS gets some exposure through the artist, and if neither really takes off (either as a result or as pure co-incidence), the endorsement fizzles out...

Thanks guys! It has number 10 on the back of the headstock, so it's a 10Top for sure. Great!! What's the difference between a normal top and a 10Top?
I'll try to post a photo; is possible to post a link from my Facebook page?

I know this story about Hiland's departure from PRS: it wasn't a money issue, he had choose Music Man because he likes Silhouette Guitar very much.
Well...I have this PRS and also a Silhouette with HSS and Floyd; they're both great guitars but, IMHO, the Johnny Hiland is a step higher in quality and sound.