Issues with Volume and Bass

Sean B

Hi all,
I’m still pretty new to the PRS family. I recently acquired a secondhand SE Custom 24, and so far I’m loving it... until I turn the volume knob up to 10. If I roll the volume off the guitar sounds perfectly balanced, but up past about 9.5 on the knob suddenly it sounds as though the bass has been boosted like crazy and the high frequencies are drowned out. The guitar came to me with this issue. I took it to a local Guitar Center, and they said it was working fine... clearly they weren’t hearing what I’m hearing. I replaced the volume pot, assuming that was the issue, but it still happens even with the new one. Pickup height seems to be a non-factor.
I’ll give as much info about the guitar as I can, for the sake of diagnosing the issue. The previous owner installed Seymour Duncan Jazz/JB humbuckers. They replaced the push/pull tone knob with a regular one, and the 3 way switch is wired for neck/inner coils/bridge, all of which seems to be working fine. There’s a treble bleed mod as well (not sure if this come stock in PRS’s). I’ve got D’Addario NYXL 9-46 strings on it. For the sake of apartment practice I play into the Neural DSP Nolly plug-in through a Focusrite 2i2. This problem happens through headphones and monitors. Is this a common problem? Could it be a wiring/grounding issue? If anyone here has any clue what the issue could be, I’d really appreciate the help! Thanks in advance.

Hi all,