Is the V12 finish stickier than the old Acrylic Urethane?

Sage

While you were partying I studied the guitar.
All my PRSi are pre-2010, and have the original Acrylic Urethane finish. I've always been happy with it, but I'm about to order a Private Stock and I'm considering the V12 finish instead. I've already eliminated Nitro as a potential finish; Aside from the general consensus that it's difficult to maintain, I've always hated the sticky, tacky feel of Nitro.

So I tried a few V12-finished guitars at the local shop, and to my surprise, they feel... kinda sticky, at least compared to my Acrylic-finished guitars. Maybe not as bad as Nitro, but definitely enough to be uncomfortable. Has anyone else noticed this?

I found this video of Paul talking about how the V12 finish was essentially Nitro laquer with plexiglass (acrylic) used as a binder instead of the normal oil used in most Nitro, and that might explain why it feels like this...

Does anyone else agree with this assessment? For those of you who own guitars with the V12 finish, does the stickiness subside over time? Is the durability better than the Acrylic Urethane?

Last edited:
Hi, all the PRS have V12 finish since 2010 ?
I don't know which finish is on mine CE24 from 2016, but it's not sticky at all.

I felt the V12 was even smoother than old poly finishes. PRS current nitro is very smooth and not sticky. But if you're super sensitive to finishes, ymmv.

Sage, I felt the same way about nitro until I played a PS with PRS' "Shatter Hard" nitro finish. It isn't sticky. If you're going PS, you owe it to yourself to at least play one with the nitro finish before deciding.

In addition to its superb look, I think the nitro does a certain something nice tonally. I've got 4 of the nitro finished PS guitars now, and they're superb. But I've also got some with V12, and no complaints there, either. And the V12 guitars sound fantastic.