Is the Bridge Pickup on a SE Hollowbody II Piezo normaly much quieter than the Neck Pickup?

Everyday Player

Hi all,
I just got myself a PRS SE Hollowbody II PIezo and I noticed that with a clean sound, the bridge pickup is about 40 to 50% quieter that the neck pickup. I was wondering if this is normal or if the guitar I got is defective. I'm a beginner player and have no prior experience with this...

So I would greatly appreciate your help, so I can decide whether I should return the instrument or not.

Many thanks!

Hi I bought one a couple of weeks ago and admittedly haven't played it much yet though but it seems ok. Am on hols at the moment and without guitar, so will have another try when I'm back next week (just to check) and will post an update.

As SinSir mentioned, if the pickup height on the bridge is drastically lower you'd notice this, but 40-50% seems a lot even if the height is way off. Seems more likely a wiring issue. I'd bring it back to the shop you bought it from and ask them to fix it.
They're great guitars, but obviously need to be in good working order when you buy it

Pickups are sensitive to height and volume level. Some more so than others. My neck pickup is typically flush or slightly below the pickup ring. The bridge pickup varies quite a bit between guitar and pickup but usually it does sit higher than the ring and neck pickup. There is no universal answer to height. It's all subjective and a case by case basis.

I don't use measurements for any pickups. I dial them all in by ear. I lower the pickup flush with the pickup ring, body, or guard and go up/down in full, 1/2, and 1/4 turns until they sound best to me. I then move to the next. Check the volume levels between the two and how blended positions sound.. adjust accordingly to preferences.

Then a couple days later I check again with fresh ears. This method hasn't failed me yet.