I think I am. ....

Steve's addiction

To a point that I have had that aha moment and am a good guitar player. Not great but good. Things are coming easier to learn and I'm very relaxed when I play. Beginning to feel like I finally deserve what I own. It's been a long journey but we'll worth it. Still struggle with timing though. If I get that down pat I might be really good. Thanks for letting me ramble

That's a great moment in a guitarists journey. A memorable one for me was when I found that my ear had developed to the point where I could play along with most any non-jazz song after fiddling with notes, and then chords, until I could find the progression. That's when I really fell in love with playing.

I remember when I was just starting. I was a "beginner". Then I progressed to being a "new player". After a while I got "pretty good". Then I got "good".

And then I realized I was "not that good"; which quickly became "ugh".

Now, I've been playing for 20 years. I've taken private lessons with jazz guys. I've worked through lots of finger style exercises (I am a decent Travis picker), I'm taking lessons from a very accomplished rock/jazz guitarist. I've picked up a good deal of music theory along the way. I've released CDs (to no acclaim), I've played live countless times as both a soloist and as part of a group.

Turns out, I'm still a "beginner".

I got to the point where I no longer worried about what people might think about what I was doing trying guitars in a music store. Not because I got good...I just figured I’d never see them again so what they thought didn’t matter.

I can’t speak to the playing in music stores thing, but I got to the point where as long as I got enough time during a session to try out a few ideas, I wasn’t too shy to do what I felt like.

I’m still a better keyboard player than guitar player, but turns out that doesn’t seem to be an issue.

I echo dcm’s comment! I always feel like a “beginner”!