I do NOT need a new head - now help me choose one

DougUSMC

Perpetual Practicer
Ok everyone, I know I'm still a newbie around here, but I think I've made it obvious that I'm a gearhead. I know I'm not alone in saying that having sweet new tech makes me want to pick up a guitar and play more!

To that end, I'm NOT looking at the PRS amps and trying to choose a new one.

I posted a pic in the other thread about my head switching rack, and I'm thinking about swapping out one or another that I haven't used lately (Orange 15), and would like to consider the PRS options. I made the leap into tubes about a year ago, and haven't looked back. BUT, with spring happening I've been considering a new combo tube, as the only combo I have is digital. So, not buying a new head, combos is a completely different addiction.

I'm thinking about something I can take out back and play with, nothing big. I'm looking for < 50w, would like 2 channels and some options so I don't have to lug out the pedalboard.

I'm going back and forth b/w a Sonzera 20, Archon 25, and Custom 20. After I decide that the Custom 20 is probably the right choice, then I start looking @ the Archon 50, and the process begins all over again...

Halp!!!

I think this is a little too broad. What are you trying to accomplish? Jazz? Pop? Blues? Metal? Rock? Funk?

What's your budget?

Personally, I feel like you can never go wrong with a Marshall

Apparently, Freidman (spelling?) is a budget-friendly Marshall or a hot rodded Marshall. IDK anything about them because I'm the type of guy where, if I want a Marshall sound, I'll just buy a Marshall amp.
I always laugh at YouTube gear reviews where people say "This is just like a Les Paul" or "this is just like a Vox AC30"

Just buy a damn AC30. Then, you'll know you're getting those overly-bright and spanky sounding British tones.

I digress but, I'm a big fan of just buying whatever it is you want to sound like.