How many winds on phase iii

Luminandy

I am new to these tuners, and love them. So far I just pull em to almost tight, then maybe get a half a wrap around. I have had no problem with tuning stability. I was curious if this is just a preference thing, or does the amount of slack to be wrapped matter? I don't want to break strings, or put unessessary wear on the tuners. I used to wrap a bit more on the winged tuners. My strings usually go dead before I break them, unlike my co guitarist who breaks them often, and does a string change at least once a week (also has phase iii, and does one full wrap, but this is not a guitar or tuner specific thing for him. We all play differently).

I broke a high E string last night, man did I get pissed. I always forget that it don't take much, I guess I'm just so use to the wing type tuners.

I am new to these tuners, and love them. So far I just pull em to almost tight, then maybe get a half a wrap around. I have had no problem with tuning stability. I was curious if this is just a preference thing, or does the amount of slack to be wrapped matter? I don't want to break strings, or put unessessary wear on the tuners. I used to wrap a bit more on the winged tuners. My strings usually go dead before I break them, unlike my co guitarist who breaks them often, and does a string change at least once a week (also has phase iii, and does one full wrap, but this is not a guitar or tuner specific thing for him. We all play differently).
I took my Custom 24 to a free PTC setup event at a dealer. Skitchy was doing the setups and he told me it's very important for guitars with a trem that the string not wrap around enough to touch itself. I don't remember if he said it was a tuning stability issue or a string breaking issue. He did them just like you do.

The think I love about PRS locking tuners is that even though there's no "winding" around the tuning peg, the tension is buttery smooth and tuning stability is fantastic.