Help about finish.

Luke kallaher

Hello everyone. I recently purchased a prs se multifoil guitar. (A 2018 I think), and I’m tired of taking it out of the case and putting it back in. I want to get a cheap normal guitar stand, but I don’t know if it is safe for the multifoil finish. Does anyone know what multifoil is made from, and if it is safe for those foam guitar stands?

I don't know about the multifoil specifically, you might check the MODCAT. A special finish would be identified. But it is likely poly and that would make it safe. But I would invest in a Hercules. Yeah, it's $50 but you'll be happier in the long run and it won't fall off and break something.

I don't know about the multifoil specifically, you might check the MODCAT. A special finish would be identified. But it is likely poly and that would make it safe. But I would invest in a Hercules. Yeah, it's $50 but you'll be happier in the long run and it won't fall off and break something.
I’m a beginner, and I don’t think it would be a good idea for me to unscrew the pickup to find the modcat code. Does modcat identify special finishes material?

Welcome, we like Noobs!:) You don't have to unscrew the pickup. You can unscrew the rings that hold the pickup and set its height. These are the 4 screws on the 4 corners of the plastic that holds the pickup, not the one in the middle of the ring. That one sets the pickup height. The MODCAT is also on the pickup case when it was sold new. If it hasn't been removed you can just look there. If it has a special finish like V12 (which would be clouded by the foam but is no longer used I think), it will be there.

You know what's better than a guitar stand? A guitar hanger!

I got a few off Etsy that use cork, they guy even did me a solid and made some from flamed maple.

Check it out!

iap_640x640.1934787513_8uuvgkdt.jpg

His listing:
https://www.etsy.com/listing/671443200/guitar-wall-hanger-by-rod-birch-made?ref=shop_home_active_8

Last edited: