Ham fisted idiot with a new guitar needs advice

Peet

I have no experience with an electric. I have an acoustic I bought 35 years ago that sat for 30 years and I started playing again 18 months ago. I never was "Good" and still am not. The acoustic strings are 10's and the action is low. It plays great and holds a tune really well.
Since I'm an old fool that can't really play, I bought the Double Cut Standard SE 24. I don't really know what's normal for an electric. I've found that I'm a bit heavy handed for this guitar and I'm working on that. I'm not sure of exact cause. The PRS is strung with 9's and I don't know if the heavy hand is caused by the 9's, or that it's an electric, or a combination of the two and exacerbated by my proficiency.
The PRS doesn't stay in tune compared to my acoustic. I can play my acoustic for an hour and find a string or two barely flat. On this electric I can play for 10 minutes and find a string or 2 or 3 flat. I did stretch the strings and like any new toy, I've spent quite a bit of time playing. Is this caused by me, a new guitar, a bridge with a trem, factory strings, tuning machines or the fact that it's low end guitar? I haven't even used the tremolo and probably never will.

You'll find an electric is almost a completely different animal when it comes to playing and adjusting things but still tunes under the same principles, if that makes any sense. As for going out of tune and "factory strings", I would restring it, if it still has tuning stability problems get with a guitar tech/repair person to determine if there is any specific reason.

It’s typical that an electric guitar will need retuning after a few minutes of play, especially with new strings, and especially with light gauges.

All you need to do is see superb pros on stage tuning between songs - as they inevitably do - to realize this is very common, and isn’t really a problem.

Get a pedal tuner, and make the tuning adjustments you need to make. Don’t worry about it.