Got to play a Core model (McCarty) recently

64 Tele

I've got 2 very nice SE models that have become my go to guitars over time.
We were on vacation last week and I hit several music stores while traveling and came
across a used McCarty (double cutaway) model with 58/15's and the fixed (not adjustable)
wraptail bridge.
It was a gorgeous guitar and good price ($1850 asking price) so I took a look at it and played
for a while. The pickups were really nice and what kept me from buying it were the huge
frets on it.
Are all McCarty's the same (fret size wise), or was this an unusual one??
I REALLY wanted to like it, but was surprised I didn't.

That's a really good price. I'm not sure about frets, however don't buy it if you don't like the neck or the feel in any way. Myself I never got too comfortable with McCarty's, I used to own one several years ago. Then some time later I started playing a Les Paul regularly, so I think now I'd be warmer to McCarty's.

We were on vacation last week and I hit several music stores while traveling and came
across a used McCarty (double cutaway) model with 58/15's and the fixed (not adjustable)
wraptail bridge.
It was a gorgeous guitar and good price ($1850 asking price) so I took a look at it and played
for a while. The pickups were really nice and what kept me from buying it were the huge
frets on it.

I didn't think the frets were particularly huge. The best advice I can give though is to try out another, maybe a newer McCarty just in case that one had been refretted to the previous owners request. Frets do make a difference on the sound and some people who opt for 'different' frets when it needs to be refretted don't actually like the instrument afterwards - not as much anyway. The previous owner may well of asked for the biggest frets possible thinking that they would wear slower or at least take longer to wear enough that they need replacing.