Getting over the hump of singing while playing

InTooDeep

Out Lobstering...
Short Story:
If I try to sing while I play, my strumming pattern falls apart. If I try to fix my strumming, i stop singing! Was there anything you did to train yourself past these sort of issues?

Long story:
I feel like this forum is a great place to get some constructive advice and insight so I figured I would ask this here! So I have been playing guitar for about 18 years now (dang! I should be better haha!) I have seen many people who can pick up and instrument and shortly after sing while playing it, and others that can hear a song and learn to play it before the 4 minute song is over. I have been neither of those. I had a few lessons early on here and there but nothing too consistent. My learning guitar looked like this:
Pick up a guitar want to play it, learn 2 chords, put it down for a year
I did this 2 or 3 times
Then when I was about 15 it dawned on me, everything i liked doing was fairly "uncool" and I needed to dig in and learn something cool like guitar haha!

I got my own guitar, a basic ESP/LTD because I wanted my own, even though my dad gave me full access to his Gibson SG that played way better!
I took a few lessons, but I didnt want to play "oh when the saints go marching in". I wanted to play ROCK!
My parents got me the tab book for Creed's My Own Prison album. The first song I learned was Ode.
My goal was really to memorize guitar parts and play them in order start to finish through songs.
Eventually I learned quite a few songs that I could play all from memory.
But I had a tough time playing with anyone else, because I knew how to play notes, not necessarily when to play them!
I attempted to play and sing Nutshell by Alice in Chains a few years later with mixed results. Mostly the issue of when I try to sing while I play, my strumming pattern falls apart. If I try to fix my strumming, I stop singing!