Fretwear on one-year-old SE Angelus Custom (curious, not alarmed)

shinksma

What? I get a title?
Recently I've had a very mild fret buzz on the G-string when fretting at the second fret on my PRS SE Angelus Custom. I figured it was time for a string change (and it was).

But, while I had the e, B, and G strings off I noticed that I had fairly obvious fret wear, mostly on the second and third frets under those three strings. Now, I'm not alarmed per se, but I've been playing for over 30 years, and none of my other guitars have exhibited fretwear so quickly. (See below.)

I've played this guitar probably 4 hours a week, on average - one gig/week @ 3 hrs played half the time, plus a few one hour sessions learning or writing songs. I usually practice with the band using the P24. And recently I've been playing mostly mandolin at practice and gigs.

Some gigs in the last year have been outdoors in warm temps, say 80 to 84 deg F, in the shade (yay Florida!). But usually we play indoors, 76-78 deg F. Not sure if frets are truly more easily worn down in warmer conditions - in theory one would say yes, but maybe 70 deg vs 80 deg is irrelevant to issue at hand.

Anyway, just wondering if this is typical, or am I just playing with too firm a grip? Guitar is set up with .012s. Is it a function of heavier strings begetting faster fretwear (gotta press harder, can't afford as light a touch as .009s for example)?

For comparison: My one-year-old P24 which has been played about as much has a some very mild fretwear, less than the Angelus, my 1979 Les Paul has perhaps equivalent to the Angelus (it was a case queen for 20 years, so I will admit probably all of that came from me over the course of 6 years prior to getting the PRS bug).