fretboard gurus needed

Roy

Still warming up
Howdy,

I'm working on an interval finder for the fretboard. I have 6 string working, I think. If you know your modes and scales, please give the finder a test. This is first beta release so please report any problems or suggestions. Any tunings or modes missing?

I'd appreciate some guidance on non-6 string tunings. Should I just ignore the lower strings for 3, 4, 5 strings? How about 7 strings? I have zero experience here.

https://royw.github.io/intervals.html

For the geeks, this is a pure html/css/javascript implementation available at https://github.com/royw/intervals

Thank you

Corrected and added tunings for non-6 string guitars (bases and ukuleles). These tunings are from what I could find googling. If you have any other tunings you use I’d be glad to add them.

tweaked UI from feedback.

Where this page shines is finding intervals by tuning, key, and mode/scale.

Thank you

Sorry, I only looked to see who had replied, so I’d know who the fretboard guru’s were

Ok seriously. Is this something that could help someone who doesn’t know a lot of musical theory? Or is it for more the scientist players?

Ok, short story, I picked up a resonator guitar a while back and had trouble finding chords and scales for the open tunings. Next was the PRS music school this year and Brian’s explanation of intervals. Combine that with a vague understanding of modes. What I wanted was an easy way to visualize so I could explore. Originally did a python program with console output. This let me visualize what I really wanted, a tool to show the intervals given the tuning, key, and mode. Thus this web page.

So to answer your question, it should be useful to explore the fretboard at any level. Beginners in standard tuning and the modes, intermediates with alt tunings, advanced with the more esoteric scales.