First post; report of severe PRS addiction... or SE to SC58 in two weeks

zz_marcello

Hi!

I just want to say hello to everybody.

I'm a mechanical engineer from Germany, relocated to the Washington DC area a year ago. Played e-guitar in different bands for 15+ years until 5 years ago my first child saw the light of this world.

Now with two kids out of diapers I have some free time again and remembered the name PRS after I bought an acoustic guitar a few weeks ago to sing along with my kids. I learnd that the factory is just one hour from my house and I also lernt about the SE line.

Ordered a SE245 in orange; very nice guitar (only the nut needed really a TUSQ update) I got severly addicted and started looking for a SC245/SC58.
Long story short I found a brand new sleeper SC58 MJ2011 sunburst without a single scratch or dent. Had to buy it.

What a beautiful instrument; what a difference in sustain even to the SE; what a built quality; those nice pickups with super tonal variety and clarity; this nice smell of the V12 finish and what an acoustic clean quality sound.
Just playing some clean cords are producing shivers on my skin.

The SE is great value for the money; but SC58 is just a piece of art.
I cannot see myself selling this guitar again in my remaining livetime.

I will keep both PRS and will use the SE245 for gigging at events where I don't have to care.

Yesterday I looked a bit around what other USA PRS I would like...maybe a custom 24 with Floyd Rose to compare with my Japanese Ibanez RG ....
....this is getting nasty. How do I get rid of this addiction again?

I have to say this strategy of luring people with the SE line into the PRS brand and making them addicted was working perfectly in my case; well done Mr. Smith... :)

Marcel

Last edited: