Eliminating new hum on a 2017 SE Custom 24, where does this wire go!?

birds

Hello and thanks for looking at this thread. I'm brand new to working on guitars, but this seems simple enough that I should be able to solve my problem with a little education and my soldering iron.

I've had this guitar since last March and it's been whisper quiet.

Recently, maybe within the last 2 weeks, I started to notice a hum that I never heard before. I noticed that when I touched the strings it would drastically reduce, or sometimes when I had the selector switch in a certain position the hum would reduce as well. I also noticed that when I plugged in the guitar and the plug moved a little bit inside the guitar, I would get a very loud buzz for a second or so (different from what you get when you plug in a guitar normally). This could also happen if I just moved the guitar, but that was very seldom.

Anyway, short story long, I opened up the control cavity and started poking around. I found a wire soldered to the top of the tone pot, but it doesn't connect to anything. I've looked at a dozen schematics and I can't figure out where this thing goes.

The wire is only long enough to go somewhere on the tone pot, or perhaps to the paint. I can't see any solder that isn't holding anything (no obvious place the wire broke). From looking at it, it's even possible that this wire was tucked under the tone pot and secured to the paint that way. Initially, the wire sheathing was covering the wire entirely (the end wasn't exposed), but the end of the sheathing was cracked and frayed. I've since stripped a bit of the sheathing off as you can see in the pictures.

Can anyone push me in the right direction on this issue?

s5ZSIAC.png

JhJ0UK7.png

O1GU0P7.png

Hello and thanks for looking at this thread. I'm brand new to working on guitars, but this seems simple enough that I should be able to solve my problem with a little education and my soldering iron.