Drop "D" on my 2001 Custom 24 without having to lock down.

Archiguitarchi

One of the sweet things about the tailpiece on this guitar is that it is "barely floating", not full floating. The trem affect is natural because of the slightly up and down motion. The down side has been that I could not drop the low E string to D or have a string let go without going out of tune. Well, I have discovered a fix that does not require additional hardware or altering the guitar in any way, retains the "slightly floating feature", is such a simple fix anybody can do it, and it is totally reversible with no sign anything had been done. It works so well that I'm going to add the mod to my 1017 Custom 24 SE as well.
Because I'm new to the form I am not sure how to go about posting pictures of the procedure, so if somebody can give me some guidance on this I'll put something up.

Good luck with the mod.
You might need a couple more posts to be allowed to post photos. Then host them somewhere and press the mountain icon and enter a link to the photo location.

Welcome to the forum

Good luck with the mod.
You might need a couple more posts to be allowed to post photos. Then host them somewhere and press the mountain icon and enter a link to the photo location.

Welcome to the forum
The mod works. I've been using it for a couple of days. I could not have been more surprised at how well it works. I've got full divebombing, bi-directional tremolo, and the option to play in drop D.

Can't wait to see it, even though I prefer installing an ESP Arming Adjuster on all my floating trems.

Yeah, to post photos you have to link to a third party site like Imgur. No uploading of images to the forum.

You grab the direct link to the photo, and insert, as veinbuster said, using the Image tool.

Your link should look like this when you grab it, without spaces (I did that so it wouldn't automatically normalize to a full URL):

http :// thehostingsite.com/blahblah/subblah/image.jpg