Dragon I vs Dragon II Pickups

ChevellePark

I've only found 2 videos of people demoing the Dragon I pickups and the audio was recorded with the built-in microphone in an old cellphone camera.

What are the differences between the Dragons and Dragon IIs? Which one's are darker? Which one's are higher output?

I play Rock, Hard Rock and Metal but I do like my cleans. The 'Metal \m/' pickups definetly pack a punch which I like but they don't have the right tone for me. HFS is too muddy, but the Vintage Bass is nice. 59/09s are too bright 57/08s are too bright...

I was interested in getting a SE Custom 24 and swapping the pups with a Dragon II and leaving the Vintage Bass in here. I'm wondering if the Dragon I Bridge pup would be better than the Dragon II Bridge pup.

I know my Head and Cabinet will affect the tone but if the pickups weren't important, nobody would care what they had in their guitars.

I apologize if I sound like I'm new to PRS. I kind of am, I'm kind of not. All of my favourite bands have Custom 24s, but I'm no expert on PRS guitars but I definetly know they're beautiful and that I need one... Or maybe 21.

Thanks in advance! I hope I didn't come across as a dick. :)

Last edited:
I just got a CU 22 with Dragon II pickups in it and my tone preferences seem to be similar to yours.
People say that Dragon II pu have a compressed sound and I do hear that. If you hit the string hard, it sounds like there's a limiter in your chain.

The output is not that hot, so you have to compensate with amp settings. It's OK but nothing outstanding.
The cleans are pretty nice in coil split mode but in humbucking mode they're just alright.

I feel like I should change the pickups in this one to get more out of the guitar, so it's interesting to see you do not like 59/09 or HFS/VB.
Did you had a chance to try 85/15? I'm hoping they will be on sale sometime soon.

If you end up swapping, let us know what you went with and how it turned out.