Did you play a Guitar Today?? Or just look at a PRS on the wall.

Rockmark

:rolleyes: Wondering if others frequently grab a guitar daily and just start noodling. Do you play everyday? I do just for my therapy if nothing else. Sometimes I think (wow, I should record that) and then just go back to noodling. Plus I wanna feel like I'm getting my money's worth out of some of these. Then I know some work hard during the day writing songs so it's more structured or like getting ready w a set for rehearsals w others. How bout your outlook!! :cool:

I try to play every evening. Most evenings I get to play for at least 30 minutes. What I do varies a lot. I've been saying for a few years now, that I was going to go back to my teenage "learning years" practice of putting on a record (now an MP3) and playing along with it, to polish/relearn a bunch of the stuff I used to play. For some reason I have never gotten around to it.

Pardon this short rant: There is some (a lot of!) truth to the stuff you read about "when I only had one guitar and amp, all i did was learn songs and play songs. But once I started hanging out at places like The Gear Page, I spent more time reading about gear than playing." You can add "and tone testing gear" to the GAS induced issues. Many times when I get a new pedal or amp I spend a week or weeks just turning dials and riffing to see what it can do. Back then, that was called "warm ups!" and then I went right to playing or practicing songs. My norm was to put on a record and play the whole thing.

It seems like I've gotten in a rut of doing more "test playing" than I have learning or playing songs. That's not good and I need to break the rut.

I play every day that I can. If I'm out of town on vacation or a business trip I don't always get to play (I went to a few guitar shops on my last trip to Phoenix to scratch that itch). I'll plug into the pod and play for 30+ minutes a day. Other times I'll just noodle unplugged whilst sitting on the couch.