Capturing that Hollowbody acoustic sound

Moondog Wily

Howlin' At The Moon!
Let me start by saying that I have very little experience in chasing tone, but I do know what I like when I hear it. After getting my first PRS (McCarty 594 HBII in February 2021), and exploring the tones, I have come to want for a particular tone that I would like to capture. That would be the acoustic sound of the hollowbody. I know that the Piezo pick-ups are designed to capture the sound boards vibrations, but the demo's that I have heard do not sound like what I here acoustically or want to capture. Not even close. So I don't think getting a second HBII with Piezo is the answer. Point me to an example recording if you think I am wrong on that.

Initially, I did not like the acoustic sound from the HBII. I think I was a bit annoyed that it was not loud enough to hear the acoustics like an acoustic guitar (which is to be expected but somewhat frustrating). I also think the sound of the electric guitar strings were hitting my ears before the vibrations of the sound board vibrations which muddled my perception a bit. But lately, it has grown on me and I have some material I think I would like to use that tone with.

So the question is, has anybody here ever successfully captured that acoustic sound from a HB? I usually use a pair of SM-81L's in X-Y pairing when recording my acoustic guitars and I think they do a fabulous job of capturing the acoustic sound, but I certainly do not want to be limited (stationary in front of mics) like that with this guitar.

One possibility I was toying with is putting a small mic inside one of the F-Holes. Something like the size of a lav mic. I have a pickup in my Martin J-40 (Fishman Rare Earth Blend Mic) that has the small microphone on it, but I do not like the sound of it at all, so that particular microphone would NOT be an option. Not sure if this option would get me what I am looking for anyway, just a thought.