Can I get advice/opinions on a 24 fret PRS please

vox801

I currently own two 22 fret PRS guitars.... I would like to get a 24 fret model and would be very interested in hearing the forums thoughts ? I played a 2003 Custom 24 today and really liked the springy feel of the strings. it also had the rotary knob which I have no experience with. Thanks in advance for your replies.

My CU24 was my first PRS. I loved it so much I bought another, a CU22. It's taken a while, but now the CU22 is just as comfortable to me.

I would have thought the strings would feel the same regardless of the amount of frets, and the 2 major factors are scale length and string gauge?

Typically 24 fret PRSes tend to have wide/pattern thin necks too (as opposed to wide fat/pattern or regular/pattern regular), so this may affect your choice.

I prefer the current 5-way blade setup to the old 5-way rotary, but that's just me...

I would have thought the strings would feel the same regardless of the amount of frets, and the 2 major factors are scale length and string gauge?

Typically 24 fret PRSes tend to have wide/pattern thin necks too (as opposed to wide fat/pattern or regular/pattern regular), so this may affect your choice.

I prefer the current 5-way blade setup to the old 5-way rotary, but that's just me...

This.

I would add that the rotary switches I have seen are sealed. If and when they get noisy (I'm talking signal noise when switching), there is no way to lubricate or clean them. So, I'd opt for a blade switch or a rotary that is not sealed....

My first PRS was a 24 freter (Cu24). They just feel right. Also try a Mira. Gotta have 22's and 24's in the collection!

Dont forget the S2. i just played one today. very similar to my mira but with a bigger body and neck.