Bore oil on fretboards?

Sage

While you were partying I studied the guitar.
When it comes to rosewood fretboards, my local guitar tech swears by bore oil. He treated a Strat I had with it, and I liked how it darkened the wood and didn't leave a smelly residue like lemon oil.

What do you guys think? Bore oil is apparently mineral oil. Anybody use it? Anybody specifically think it's a bad​ thing to put on fretboards?

A while back I did a little study on fretboard treatments.

Mineral oil leaves a residue that eventually becomes sticky and attracts dirt. It sits on top of the wood. It will soften the top layer of the wood a little, which isn't necessarily a good thing on a fingerboard that deals with hard fingernails, metal string friction, etc. I've seen woods, including fingerboards, treated with mineral oil that you could sink a fingernail into. In fact, my wife used to treat our maple cutting board with it, and you could literally write your name in it with the edge of a finger. So be careful with that stuff.

Lemon oil is essentially naphtha with a little lemon scent so it doesn't smell like the dry cleaners (naphtha is the main ingredient in a lot of dry cleaning stuff). Lemon oil is good for cleaning the fretboard, and should be wiped off immediately.

Bore oil is for woodwind instruments that pick up spit and moisture from the instrument being blown into. The wood on such an instrument would rot unless it was treated with something that adhered to the outside of the wood and left a residue of oil. So its purpose is far different from the needs of a fingerboard, that gets moisture and oils at the same time from your hands, but isn't in a confined space like the inside of a blow hole, and it is open to the air for quicker evaporation, leaving the oils from your fingers behind. In many cases, woodwind instruments are also finished with a coating inside.