Beginner help - SE Custom 24 or CE24

lycokayaker

Hey Gang

my first post here so be gentle. I am a total newbie guitar player have a really cheap acoustic that I have been learning the basics on using guitar tricks. Would like to buy an electric and start taking lesson. I choose PRS. I typically have a mentality of buy once cry once. Would I be making a mistake buying a ce24 as my first guitar? I know its no where near the top of the line but would like to start off with something decent. Is it worth for someone beginning to jump up on a super nice guitar or...... Anyways any and all advice is welcome!

Bill

I agree. They are all pretty similar from 2016 and on. Same thin neck profile. I do believe a brand new one has a nitro finish that all the USA ones got after 2020. Lot of bargains to be had for used CE’s. Older ones (pre 2006) are a lot closer to core models but the new CE are great instruments. USA 85/15 is a great modern pickup

Last edited:
I’m surprised at the used prices for CE24s. They seem lower than I would have thought. Used guitars can be a great value.

It’s an odd thing. I don’t care much about a bump on one of my used guitars, but a guitar I bought new? That bothers me. Shouldn’t, but it does.

I agree. They are all pretty similar from 2016 and on. Same thin neck profile. I do believe a brand new one has a nitro finish that all the USA ones got after 2020. Lot of bargains to be had for used CE’s. Older ones (pre 2006) are a lot closer to core models but the new CE are great instruments. USA 85/15 is a great modern pickup

Where are you guys finding these deals? I looked on eBay and reverb and didn’t see much of a discount. Also is there a way to see what year they were made in if I wanted to stay 2016 or newer.

Where are you guys finding these deals? I looked on eBay and reverb and didn’t see much of a discount. Also is there a way to see what year they were made in if I wanted to stay 2016 or newer.