Archon questions and/or issues

whatamada

Hey guys!
New to the forum both I've been playing PRS guitars since 2004.
But, this Friday I bought myself an Archon 100.
Man, it sounds great. It even made me sell my Diezel :O

BUT, I have some questions and thoughts.
1) I'm considering retubing the amp, both power and pre-amp section.
What tubes are recommended for the pre-amp?
2) Is there a how-to-guide for biasing?
3) I'm having some weird noises coming out of my cab when I'm turning the depth knob. An issue or normal ? An easy fix to it?

I think that's all for now :)

Hope to hear from you guys!

All the best,

whatamada

BUT, I have some questions and thoughts.
1) I'm considering retubing the amp, both power and pre-amp section.
What tubes are recommended for the pre-amp?

I have no answer on most of your questions, since I don't have an Archon, but I do have some ideas about re-tubing.

For preamp tubes, I'd go NOS, for a variety of reasons, but whatever you decide, get them from a place that will test for low noise and microphonics. You'll be a lot happier in the long run even if you have to pay an extra couple bucks per tube for this service.

If you like the tone of the JJ preamp tubes that I believe that PRS still puts in their amps (that's what they put in my HXDA), you might consider the new Telefunken-branded tubes. They are made by JJ, hand picked for low noise and microphonics, and are kind of the "pick of the litter" for the brand.

No, they're not original, true NOS Telefunkens; a US company bought the name (and they make very fine high end microphones by the way), but at least you're getting something better than average for a hell of a lot less money than a decent NOS tube.