Archon Head / Tons of mid range

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by bvaladez74, Sep 22, 2014.

1. bvaladez74

bvaladez74 New Member

Anyone have an opinion on the natural EQ curve / Voicing of the Archon?

I just spend a few days dialing the amp in....and played 2 gigs with it...on a huge stage this last weekend. I'm a gigging musician...with a really heavy schedule....cover band stuff with a wide range of tones I pull out of my hat, every night. I play mainly musicman axis guitars and strats. One night I used the amp on it's own with a few pedals in front and an EQ and delay in the loop and the other night I ran the 4CM with my POD HD500x to compare.

The amp on it's own has an incredible amount of unwanted high mids...honky mids that can't really be dialed out, even with the mid knob all the way off. Seems about the 1k range is the culprit. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not a "scooped mid" type of player...however...a smooth, even flat EQ to start is a requirement. I've tried 2 of these heads...one in a store and one I ordered and same result. The 2 I played on multiple guitars on 2 different rigs...sounds NOTHING like the demo videos produced by PRS with Zach Myers and Tremonti playing through them.

If I played my strat all night on the neck pickup, this thing would be amazing on it's own, out of the box with no "helpers" to smooth out the nasely frequencies....but for a rock to high gain rock tone...with humbuckers...for me, the amp is NOT usable unless I run at least a 10band EQ in the loop pulling down a couple different mid frequencies.

I'm looking for similar experiences. Set aside the idea of "This amp is sooo badass solely cuz it's a PRS". I love PRS all around...but be impartial and only speak off the tone you've experienced out of the box. Anyone have the same issue?

Thanks.

2. Jazzedout

Jazzedout More Guitars than Time...

Interesting...