Apple Bringing Logic Pro To The iPad

alantig

Zombie Four, DFZ

Unfortunately (IMO) it looks this is going to be a subscription thing (I don't see anything about this being a free add-on for existing Logic users). There are some really neat features that could be very useful - Roundtrip, which allows you to move a project from a Mac to an iPad and vice versa. Drawing automation curves w/the Apple Pencil (something I'd love to have on the desktop). No idea how plug-in licenses will work w/this, either.

Hmm, very interesting. Big Logic fan here. I believe there’s a remote feature for iOS devices already, but as an accessory to the Mac running the Logic project.

I wonder what functionality will be lost on the iPad version. That being said, I’m sure it’ll still be able to do a surprising amount.

My work is pretty complicated, involving several external drives, video and audio, etc. An iPad won't work for me, but I do think it's a great idea. I've been using Logic primarily since 2008.

However, I hate the idea of subscriptions. That really, really sucks. Bloodsucking at its worst.

Hmm, very interesting. Big Logic fan here. I believe there’s a remote feature for iOS devices already, but as an accessory to the Mac running the Logic project.

I wonder what functionality will be lost on the iPad version. That being said, I’m sure it’ll still be able to do a surprising amount.

There is indeed - Logic Remote. One of the things that convinced me to try an iPad way back when. There is some functionality and info I wish was displayed on the iPad using that, but it's perfect for when I'm recording acoustics or something that has me sitting back from the desk - no need to twist to my controller or move back and forth.

My work is pretty complicated, involving several external drives, video and audio, etc. An iPad won't work for me, but I do think it's a great idea. I've been using Logic primarily since 2008.