Anyone play PRS guitar through DAW / amp sims, particularly Reaper?

ken2esq

I have been toying with Reaper DAW for a couple years because it was cheap way of getting experience with Digital Audio Workstation / home recording, and it supposedly had a lot more professional functionality than, say, GarageBand.

One of my main interests was plugging my electric guitars into an interface, and using Reaper for amp simulators, virtual effects pedals, etc., as an alternative to chasing tone through real amps, pedals, etc. So I downloaded a lot of different amp sims, cabinet simulators, impulse effects, pedal-type virtual effects, etc. There's a lot out there -- both free and otherwise. Really, the amount of options was daunting. As some one who has had hardly any experience with real amps and pedals, I was not able to dial in any tone I liked with the virtual stuff. (I have powered studio monitors that are good, so I don't think speaker quality is the issue.) But back when I was trying this, I was using relatively cheap guitars (Epiphone G400 or Epiphone Dot Studio).

Now I've got my PRS McCarty and I see a lot of difference in the tone when I play it through my real tube amp. I'm thinking about giving the Reaper / virtual amp sims another shot, this time using my PRS. I think the type of guitar affects what works best for an amp sim, virtual guitar effects chain, etc., so I'm particularly interested in any other PRS players (particularly McCarty players) who have used amp sims and virtual guitar effects chains, what they like to use, how they sequence the virtual plug ins or dial them in, what kind of tones they got with their set up (e.g., perhaps comparing it to a band / player I might know, like a chain for Pink Floyd-like tone, or for Santana-ish, or Nirvana-ish, etc.)? I think with Reaper in particular it may even be possible to "share" a virtual FX chain, which I have never done but, if it can be done, might be ideal.