Any PRS JA-15 experts here?

Kiwi

I'm curious about the JA-15, its note attack and response. I'm used to the HB-II and McCarty Archtop guitars, with hollow bodies, maple tops and backs, and mahogany necks.

- Does the JA-15's maple neck give a snappier response or attack compared to mahogany?
- Does the spruce top soften things a bit compared to maple tops?

=K

HI

I don't know if I'm a PRS JA-15 expert but I sold my HB Singlecut II to purchase the JA-15 and have no regrets. I love the sound of Byrdlands, L-5 and George Bensons and feel that the JA-15 has replaced all of them. The width is of a Byrdland, but the 15 inch body sits comfortable on the lap and for live playing. The scale length and neck carve is the same as my PRS Custom 24 so moving from one guitar to the other is with ease.
Sound: If you are looking for the classic, snappy, Benson/Jackson tone, this is the guitar. I have not experienced feedback either.
I sold my Gibson ES-355 and Byrdland and feel I made the right choice.

Gibson BYrdlands, L-5 and Ibanez George Benson all have a Spruce top and that's what lured to the JA-15. THe HB II are awesome as well but the maple top is brighter sounding. THe JA-15 has an ebony fingerboard which you will also find on the GIbson and GB-10. The 53/10 pickups can be bright or warm based on your tone settings.

HI

I don't know if I'm a PRS JA-15 expert but I sold my HB Singlecut II to purchase the JA-15 and have no regrets. I love the sound of Byrdlands, L-5 and George Bensons and feel that the JA-15 has replaced all of them. The width is of a Byrdland, but the 15 inch body sits comfortable on the lap and for live playing. The scale length and neck carve is the same as my PRS Custom 24 so moving from one guitar to the other is with ease.
Sound: If you are looking for the classic, snappy, Benson/Jackson tone, this is the guitar. I have not experienced feedback either.
I sold my Gibson ES-355 and Byrdland and feel I made the right choice.