Any of the PRS amps cover some of the Bassman range?

Rango

I have a reissue '59 Bassman and thought about getting a Victoria. The Bassman is just such a fun amp, great rich tone. Only down side is it's 50 watts! and that's just too loud! So I end up playing my Mesa TA-30 a lot because it can be powered down to lower wattage.

What I'd REALLY like is something around 15 to 20 watt Bassman! I tried the trick of rebiasing and using 6V6 to cut the wattage but it killed the tone.

So any of the PRS amps cover some of this tonal range? Ya, It would be nice to play them but I'll have to seek it out so I need to focus the hunt. :wink:

Suggestions? :D

There is a 30W HXDA combo that may stray into that realm but I have no first-hand experience. The PRS 30 amp is also a really good sounding amp, but I wouldn't characterize it in the Bassman arena. Kinda depends on what aspect of the Bassman you really liked. Crystal cleans? Note bloom? Headroom?

You guys may call me crazy, but to me, the 50W MDT is very bassman like with the master cranked, and the volume set to about 3. Not sure what the power output is at that point, but it's probably less than 20W. Maybe I'm not totally crazy though, because I think that's what the "T" in MDT stands for ("Tweed").

Have you given the Sweet 16 a look and a listen?

I have one and love it.. It's my "F" brand loving guitar buddies favorite of my amps. It actually kinda reminds me of an old blackface Bassman, which I was smooth talked out of many years ago so, I've never been able to directly A/B them...

16 watts, nice rich, round tone.. It "feels" great, if that makes any sense?!?

Last edited:
There is a 30W HXDA combo that may stray into that realm but I have no first-hand experience. The PRS 30 amp is also a really good sounding amp, but I wouldn't characterize it in the Bassman arena. Kinda depends on what aspect of the Bassman you really liked. Crystal cleans? Note bloom? Headroom?