Ann Wilson at Maryland Hall

Em7

deus ex machina
My girl and I went to see Ann Wilson at Maryland Hall this evening. We like Maryland Hall because it is a smaller venue. However, someone forgot to tell the FoH staff that Maryland Hall is a smaller venue. To say that the mix was too loud is an understatement. The mix would have been too loud at half of the sound pressure level. The instruments and vocals were smearing together with quite a bit of phase cancellation. The room was beyond saturated. What could have been a great small venue concert turned out be no, just no due to a FoH staff that appeared to insensitive to the audience, many of whom were plugging their ears. We left at intermission because we could not take it anymore.

Last edited:
Sad... and not the first time I’ve heard this, or experienced it, at a concert. I mean, I’m an amateur sound man. I know I stood right by the sound board at an outdoor show once, a big one, and couldn’t even hear Petrucci or the vocals. Portnoy completely dominated the mix. I walked up to a soundman and said “does that sound Ok to you guys?” He said “what’s the problem?” I said you can’t hear vocals well enough to make out the worlds, can’t hardly hear the guitar at all and the drums are louder than everyone else in the band put together.” He rolled his eyes and turned away from me and started watching the band again. Within the next 15 minutes, I witness at least 5 other people leave their spot close to the stage, to come back to the sound man to complain, and all said the same thing. “All I can hear is drums and bass” can’t even hear the guitar”. “Can’t hear vocals or guitar at all” etc... and he never touched one thing. Either completely toned deaf, or ear burned out musician, getting paid to do a job he clearly couldn’t do and didn’t care.