Angelus SE

Mike Lopez

I just wanted to post this to hopefully clear up some confusion about the construction of a couple of the Angelus SE models. I own a Angelus SE Standard (2012) and a Angelus SE A50E. I have read posts both here and elsewhere claiming that Angelus SE guitars are constructed on the backs and sides using "plywood." The origins of these posts seem to be from the cork sniffing, "I have a solid wood guitar" crowd. I just spoke to PRS customer service and they related the following. The PRS SE Standard b/s's are constructed using three plies of mahogany and no filler. The A50E uses two plies of maple and the center is one ply of mahogany. For the uninformed should take note that there is no reference to poplar, plywood etc. used in the construction. I have been playing for 60 years and have owned countless guitars and I do not consider myself an expert by any means, but I do know what sounds good. In the last 2 1/2 years I have purchased 3 Taylor's, 1 Takamine, and 1 Yamaha acoustic that were constructed of solid wood and have sold them all. I can tell you that NONE of those guitars could hold a candle to my Angelus SE's period. I unfortunately fell for the propaganda that unless a guitar is solid wood it will not sound good. This post is primarily directed to the guitar store commando's who feel it necessary to expose their limited knowledge on forums when they have no first hand knowledge of the guitars in question. This post is also for the other PRS Angelus SE owners who know and understand that it does not matter where the guitar was built, but who built it. In closing, anyone who has owned a PRS guitar knows first hand the true meaning of quality.

Hi, Mike, thanks for maintaining your beliefs regards the PRS SE line of acoustics.