Aftermarket pickups in SE Cu 24

YetAnotherRushFan

So I picked up a nice 2012 SE custom 24 that has the Seymour Duncan TB-4 JB and SH-2N pair.

I expected these pickups to sound better– after all, these are highly regarded aftermarket pickups, and the stock units are not exactly first-rate. But what kind of surprises me is just how much overall *bass* the Seymour Duncan pickups have– especially the bridge. That pickup has made the overall balance of the guitar much lower. Stock, it's a bright sounding guitar; with this set, not at all.

(I have another, completely stock SE custom 24 I'm comparing it to.)

Here is my question (I'm a beginner): Is it usual for better pickups to have more bass/a lower balance?

The only other difference between the two guitars is that the stock one has nine gauge strings and the new one with the Seymour Duncans tens. Yes I know thicker strings will give a bit deeper tone but not anywhere near this difference in my experience.

(Stock, this guitar is a killer value; with $150 in pickups, it's flat out amazing!)

To accomplish what? :)

Pickup height looks about the same between the two guitars. I like the sound of the stock instrument but to me the one with the Duncans just sounds better with the lower balance.

(I also had a American-made PRS', and to me they have a much lower, weightier balance as well.)

To accomplish what? :)

Pickup height looks about the same between the two guitars. I like the sound of the stock instrument but to me the one with the Duncans just sounds better with the lower balance.

(I also had a American-made PRS', and to me they have a much lower, weightier balance as well.)
Different pickups, different heights?

Definitely. Get a small phillips, sit down and play, pausing occasionally to tweak the pup heights until you get the balance and output that you want.

Want less bass? Lower the bass side of the pup.
More treble? Raise the treble side of the pup.