active or passive PUP's with the Archon 100?

Deedsoftommy

I ♡ chip's n' salsa.
So I have active PUP's in my guitar. They're are the EMG 808 ones. The sound is "OK" but for as much gain as my Archon 100 has. Do I really need actives?!?!?!?! Would Passives feel more natural? ??????? Mind you that I'm a drummer of 21 year's and guitar player for 3 years. Which these first 3 years have just been about learning how to play more than the tone. Now enters the ARCHON 100!!! SO you know. :)

So passives or actives?

I may be a total cork sniffer but I associate active pickups with cheap guitars and solid state amps.

I may be a total cork sniffer but I associate active pickups with cheap guitars and solid state amps.

Then again, this one with active pickups (Alembics all seem to come with them) runs about $20,000...so...uh..."not so fast, buckaroo..."

MODTLGcocoboloM.jpg

No, it's just a different tone. Also, (shudders involuntarily) at solid state amps.

Unless you're talking acoustic amps or something like a Quilter...I bet active pickups would do cleans amazingly well.

Last edited:
I think active pick ups have their place. I recently borrowed my brothers Paul Allender signature with emgs and I managed to get some awesome balls out metal tones out of it. That said I'm definitely more of a passive guy.

The decision has nothing to do with the amount of gain your amp has and everything with how you want your amp to respond.

EMGs are typically tighter and more percussive than passives.