A PRS Banjo, plausible? Yes or No?

HANGAR18

Who is John Galt?
I got to thinking about banjos recently and my imagination amuses me sometimes. I can see the Appalachian mountains from where I live and, despite all the hillbilly and banjo jokes, I have learned to appreciate Bluegrass music. So I learned recently that Gibson lost their ability to make banjos. Probably not a big loss; who the heck wants to pay $50,000.00 for a banjo anyway? The splinter company "The Heritage" who makes guitars out of the original Gibson factory at one time offered banjos but even those were sub contracted out and built elsewhere and they aren't in their catalog any more. The remaining big names in banjos don't really float my boat (not that I'm an expert on banjos or even know how to play one). It seems to me that the only banjo maker out there who is making a professional grade banjo at an affordable price is Washburn with banjos starting at around the $700.00/$800.00 price range.

So, just for what may be an entertaining discussion, what do you think about the invention of a PRS banjo which would compete with any of the other professional offerings which are already on the market? Plausible or not at all practical? And by professional, I mean loud resonator, heavy brass ring, great looks, great playability and so on.

Maybe PRS doesn't know how to build a banjo. Maybe the only way it could be affordable would be to introduce an overseas made banjo. Maybe there isn't enough demand for banjos for the idea to be practical.

Opinions?

Discuss.

What, no deliverance jokes? I think I'll buy a banjo and learn how to play it just to piss people off. hahahaha

Last edited by a moderator:
Not enough demand.

But I'm a proud owner of a banjo. Lousy at playing it, but I have one. Keep telling myself I'll really learn it one day.

I have a great appreciation for banjo music.

Especially that bit where it stops.

Seriously, check out Alison Brown. And Steve Martin.