9.5 Pounds of McCarty

Nice. I have a beastly McStandard that weighs in at around 9 lb.

Sexy! Love me the heavy guitars! Funny little story: Years ago when I ordered my private stock singlecut, I specified they use the most dense chunk of South American Mahogany they had in stock. Shortly after, my dealer received an email from PRS asking if there was a typo. I guess a large number of customers request light mahogany backs or for the guitar to come in at a certain weight. Weight is a deal breaker for a lot of folks and they wanted to make sure there wasn't an error. :)

I don't mind the weight at all.... it was surprising to me when I first picked it up though!
I'm not an expert on PRS, but most I've tried are relatively lite.

Big guitars need love too. If you can't lift nine pounds, time to hit the gym.

That's all great until you have that 9+ lbs beast around your neck for four hours and have neck and back issues. There's a limit for me. Hollowbodies have started to spoil me, too.

That was sort of tongue and cheek. Wasn't meant to offend anyone if that was the case. I carried anywhere from 15 to 40 pounds worth of camera gear all day long for 15 years, sometimes working an entire day in adverse conditions (war zones, natural disasters, etc...) and the one thing I've found is back exercises, and exercises in general go a long way towards solving any issues like that. Screw doctors, screw surgery. Exercise properly, and regularly, you'll have no issues. A nine pound guitar is slightly heavier than the average weight of a human head. For the record, I do not advocate playing with human heads.

My only hollowbody comes in at 8.5 pounds but it isn't a PRS unfortunately. It's the heaviest of my lot. Second is the DGT which is a svelte 8.3 pounds. I don't feel any difference between it and a 7.3 pound PRS.