85/15 "S" pickups?

george7117

Anyone had any experience or care to comment on the new 85/15 S pickups? I'm looking at a S2 with these and was wondering what they sound like/how close to regular 85/15s? Any help would be great. Thanks.

I have no experience with core 85/15s but I have korean 85/15 S in my SE custom 24 and don´t like them very much. They sound ok, good output and well balanced tone, but they are a little harsh to my ears. They break up easily and rolling down the volume they don´t clean up as nicely as my other pickups. Obviously, I´m comparing apples and oranges because here we´re talking about regular korean pickups, and my references are 57/08s, 245s, modded Gibson Burstbuckers, BKP Mules... top notch pickups.

I have no experience with core 85/15s but I have korean 85/15 S in my SE custom 24 and don´t like them very much. They sound ok, good output and well balanced tone, but they are a little harsh to my ears. They break up easily and rolling down the volume they don´t clean up as nicely as my other pickups. Obviously, I´m comparing apples and oranges because here we´re talking about regular korean pickups, and my references are 57/08s, 245s, modded Gibson Burstbuckers, BKP Mules... top notch pickups.
I'll take em off your hands.

Have you ever tried the PRS Tone Furnace pickups which used to be on the PRS SE Custom 22 when it still had a hardtail bridge?

No, I haven't.
Are they better or worse than 85/15 Ss?

No, I haven't.
Are they better or worse than 85/15 Ss?

I haven't tried the 85/15 S's yet. Been trying to find a place but nothing close by just yet. I tried the Tone Furnace pickups though and they were pretty good

I just asked because I was trying to gauge if the 85/15 S cleaned up about as well as the Tone Furnace or not and possibly how well they handled heavy distortion.