513 pickup replacement

hammeron

Think I might have a bad pickup on my 513. Anyone know if I can order a pickup from PRS or am I going to have to ship it to the PTC :(

Have you opened up the cavity and checked all the wires and stuff? I know there's a PC board in 513s, never seen one in person, but maybe one of the pickup wires has come loose?

I had a dead spot in a 513 I recently purchased used, it ended up being two broken joints between the pickup and the circuit board which broke during shipping. It did not end up being expensive -- can't say about yours though, I'm not a professional.

Last edited:
Contact prs, could be covered under warranty. If you are comfortable with trouble shooting, give it a go! Might be an easy fix.

Last edited:
The front pickup keeps cutting out intermittently. I can get it back by fiddling with one the two front pickup heights (It's only the front pickup group-the middle pu and back group are fine). I took it to someone and he thought it might be one of the pickups or the wire, but he was quick to admit that he was pretty baffled by the electronics. I'll be taking it to a local PRS service center so they can make the determination, just wanted to see what my options were...I've never seen any 513 pickups floating around out there. I bought it used, so warranty is not in the cards.

Sounds like a plan! Yeah, that definitely sounds like a bad connection between the pickup and the circuitboard. Er, not definitely, probably, I am not a technician.