30 Years Ago, Interesting Comments About And By PRS

Eichaan

In my latest post in my blog series "Thirty Years Ago in Guitar Player", Ted Nugent expounds at length about his new PRS guitars and why they were so great. The article also includes an interesting quote from PRSh about Ted's gear.

Check it out and more, including musings on gear from Andy Brauer and articles on Martin Barre and Frank Gambale at: https://icarusanybody.blogspot.com/2018/06/my-back-pages-thirty-years-ago-in_17.html

Jun88Cover.jpg

Somehow I think Uncle Teddly’s comment about always having lots of miniskirts in the studio is different than what I’d mean.

Cool!

The Nugent snippet was fun - I chuckled when he mentioned the "Paul Rivera stereo tube amplifier". I have been using one of those since 1990, and he's right....the tone IS rich, thick and creamy!!

Thanks for sharing - it was an all around enjoyable read!

Glad you liked it Mark! And how cool is it that you confirmed the gear evaluation? Lots of great experience on this forum for sure.

Cool read. Aside from repeating some of the Nugent comments from above, I loved the comment about the TGP thread about Guitar Player, and the "Put Martin Barre on the cover and I'll subscribe" comment. I wonder how many hours the editors spent debating, "Gee, we can get this one guy's subscription, or...we can slap Slash on the cover again and sell an extra thousand newsstand copies". I mean, I get it - I get kind of tired of seeing the same faces on the covers (I used to joke that Guitar World only needed to work on six covers a year - the other six were two EVH, two Dimebag, and two Hendrix). There are a ton of guys I think are deserving of the recognition and the exposure, but let's be real, they probably wouldn't sell issues and that's what the magazines are supposed to do.