1st PRS??

Flyfish-mt

I'm certain that this has been talked about before but I am looking to get my feet wet in the PRS arena. I have been playing for over 30 years and have owned many guitars mainly Gibson and Fender. I currently own a 80' LP Custom and a 01' AS Strat and was looking to add a PRS to my stash. I have looked at the SE series but I am willing to toss in more $$ to get an american made guitar. I do not have to have a brand new guitar, a used one in good shape would be just fine. Of course I love the fancy $3k+ PRS guitars but I am looking to stay in the $1500 range. Any suggestions on a good starting point would be greatly appreciated. Oh, I like the traditional PRS styled guitars.

Welcome!
If you have the chance just go try a bunch. Since you have a LP and strat, I'd start with checking out a Custom 24 for the "original" PRS vibe or a 22 if 24 frets doesn't excite you. A used McCarty or DGT would be my personal pick.

Also, I do prefer a thinner neck profile. I'm not sure if neck profiles differ from model to model as do Gibson necks.

Also, I do prefer a thinner neck profile. I'm not sure if neck profiles differ from model to model as do Gibson necks.

It sounds like you'd be right at home with a CE. The CE24 came with a wide-thin neck which is very comfy, and its bolt-on maple neck gives it a slightly more stratty feel. It's a very versatile guitar with the 5 pickup selector options, and they can be found for a thousand bucks on a good day, as while they were Maryland-made and have lovely maple tops on mahogany (and earlier alder) bodies, they had dot inlays so they aren't as blingy and expensive as, say the Custom line. I really like mine a lot.

+1 on the CEs. There was an option for a "standard" neck profile (my 1997 has one) which is definitely heftier, but I prefer the wide/thin as well. So be sure to ask about the neck. I haven't played a bad one yet :)