1990/91 Limited Edition 300 question

Andrew Paul

The cat's meow
I’ve always wanted to own one of the 300 Limited Edition guitars from 1990/91. I’ve been looking at the Internet, at past sales, current sales, and any information I can find but what confuses me is the numbering. Seems like there was no order to the numbering from what I can dig up, some guitars in 1991 had high numbers into the hundreds while others had low numbers in 1991 in the 40s and vice versa from 1990. I was looking on Reverb and there is one advertised, in very nice condition, showing a serial number that would’ve been from 1989. Number 55 of 300. Without posting the link and being accusatory I am curious if anyone thinks this guitar is a fake? The Paul Reed Smith guitar official website says these historic limited additions are from 1990/91. What about 1989? I figure there should be some experts on this site that can help me with this.

I have one from '91, and I am no expert, but I believe some of the confusion could come from Pauls availability. IIRC the whole change from Signature to Limted Edition came about due to the ability to get Paul to sign them since he was on the road trying to promote the brand. Anyone that knows more feel,free to chime in. This was way before my time and experience with all things PRS

I have one from '91, and I am no expert, but I believe some of the confusion could come from Pauls availability. IIRC the whole change from Signature to Limted Edition came about due to the ability to get Paul to sign them since he was on the road trying to promote the brand. Anyone that knows more feel,free to chime in. This was way before my time and experience with all things PRS

So are you saying that when guitars were being made and at the step for him to sign them, they were set aside until he could get to them (sign them) ? Therefore a 1990 could be 178/300 and a 1991 42/300 depending how they were laid out for him to sign?