08 SE Custom 22 ambient noise issue

FJK

Greetings all,

I joined to see if I can learn more about this issue and find resolution to it. When I amplify my 08 SE Custom there is always ambient noise - buzzing or humming though the amp (a 2 year old Fender Mustang II, that checks out - no issues, even when set to the cleanest settings). When I touch the strings or the saddles the noise stops. The guitar is completely factory. I am using a new D'addario cable with a kill switch replacing the cable which came with this used instrument. The set up, intonation, etc. is good and there are no, bridge,nut or fret issues.

I've just learned that my neighbor has several amps which I will plug into in the near future to see if I can replicate this ambient noise.

Is this a grounding, wiring issue within the guitar?

Thanks for your "feedback". Including, posting, etc., as I am new to how this works

Try it with another cable, other than the one with the kill switch. If you do use your neighbors amps, try them at his house and at your house, to see if something is going on with your house.

Many times, noise like this can be from other electrical equipment in the house, computers, monitors, fluorescent lights, etc.

Have you opened the control cavity to check that all solder joints are still good, as well as the ground wire from the trem claw (assuming you have a trem.)

Also, is the problem the same, day and night, or worse at night? If at night, check your whole house for any lights with dimmers, and turn them completely off - see if that helps.

Good advice
Try it with another cable, other than the one with the kill switch. If you do use your neighbors amps, try them at his house and at your house, to see if something is going on with your house.

Many times, noise like this can be from other electrical equipment in the house, computers, monitors, fluorescent lights, etc.