Would like a low volume tube amp...any suggestions?

APed

Hi all, I'm a beginner player and usually practice in the evening when the kids are going to sleep. Sometimes I play unplugged which is okay for practice but doesn't sound great. I have a cheap little solid state amp that doesn't sound amazing at any volume.

At my instructor's studio I plug into a vintage Fender tube amp and my PRS sounds amazing! I get to my lesson before the instructor shows up just to get in some practice on his beautiful sounding amp.

So my question is....can you help me pick out a tube amp that will have beautiful clean tones but with sufficiently low volume that I don't wake the kids? Do any of the PRS amps have the ability to use a low power mode?

I've researched a few, like the Vox AC4C1 and VHT Special 6, which have the ability to dial down the amp power and play at a lower volume. Anybody have experience with those or others?

I can't be the only person who doesn't want to wake up the kiddies at night. Thanks in advance!

I have had a Tiny Terror and Dark Terror that I really love. Used super cheap.

If you ever need to crank they can do that too.

I played a Fender Bassbreaker 15 the other day, and it was pretty cool, sounded decent at lower volume (lower volume for a tube amp, that is). But if you need whisper volumes, I would also suggest a higher end solid state amp like the Katana, or the Yamaha THR. Even with an attenuator, a tube amp will be pretty loud.

Tried a Blackstar 1 watt, and the Vox AC4, didn't care for those as much.

A bigger tube amp sounds great because the output tubes and transformers affect the sound. Big iron - in this case the transformers used in bigger amps - give you “that sound.”

Even five or ten watts can be loud; a doubling or halving of power only changes the volume by 3 dB.