So where are these "Dead Spots" I keep hearing about?

sergiodeblanc

I have noticed a lot of comments on "The Grumpy Page" about PRS having "dead spots" around the 12th fret, I have no idea what they are talking about. I mean I know what a "dead spot" is mind you, but neither PRS guitar I own, or any one I have ever played has had this problem. It seems like there are a bunch of people who still love their PRS but are complaining about it, is this really an issue? Do I need to clean my ears? I know I have to trim the hair that magically started appearing daily after I turned 36, but Damn! Is this just a new form of slander about PRS guitars that gets repeated until it becomes "truth"?

In my experience most dead spots are caused by too low of action or fat fingers hanging over the fret. Of course I'm sure some instruments do have dead spots.

I've been playing PRSes for 22 years, have owned quite a few, and have played many more. I've never observed this problem with one. They've all sustained evenly up and down the neck.

Doesn't mean it can't happen, but it must be very unusual.

Dead spots can and indeed do occur. I had a Schecter I had to return that had a terrible dead spot that I couldn't live with. The guy in the shop had no idea what I was on about when I tried to explain it and did the whole "Just needs a setup" thing.

I think it's probable that a lot of the time a 'dead spot' is more likely a setup issue or a technique issue. However, there are some incidences where nothing can be done as it's inherant to that particular guitar, it's construction and materials.

My dead spot meant 'e' notes high up the neck wouldn't sustain for more than 2 - 3 seconds. The decay of the note wasn't normal and abrubtly ended. Completely unmusical. Something was killing that particualr frequency. Didn't matter if I tuned the string up or down as it would follow the e note or in other words it wasn't related to that fret.