Recommendations for Cleanest and Warmest PRS M, Both SE and Stevensville

Tammany

I am contemplating my first PRS purchase and need some advice

Primarily a Strat SSS player, I am looking to add a clean, warm sounding humbucker guitar and have been nibbling on a 2018 S2 Singlecut Standard at my local shop. It is pristine and has a nice price. I would like some useful comments about whether this guitar will do the trick for me. It will be played through a Deluxe Reverb. I am mostly an R&B/old time R&R player. I rarely overdrive the guitar and for this purchase, I am chasing that old school round, buttery HB tone.

Have played the guitar in the shop through a Princeton amp and it sounds great to me but they have no other PRS in the shop to compare it to and I have limited experience with PRS, in general.

I can't really get a handle on the PRS #7 pickups that are in the guitar, although I read that they are hotter than PAFs.

On a related question, what is the thought here in general about the best PRS guitars for clean, round tone? I would be interested in recommendations for both American made and SE guitars. I recently played a Custom 24 SE at one of the big boxes through a Deluxe Reverb and liked it a lot but again, I feel limited because it is so hard to find American made PRS guitars alongside the Indonesian guitars so that I can A/B them. I am counting on the advice of people here who have broader experience.

Many thanks.

Last edited:
IMO, you can't go wrong with a Hollowbody for a gorgeous clean but warm humbucker. Depending on your budget, the Core's are great but I'm a big fan of the SE's as well. The import 58/15-S pickups those come with sound great to my ears.

I have 3 Hollowbodys - a regular SE, a Piezo SE and a Piezo Core, if that tells you how much I like that guitar!