PRS model most like a Tele?

EEGMan

I have a friend who loves his tele and wants to buy a second telecaster just to set up in open g for slide. My feeling is always that you should buy what moves you, but to not try a PRS before you buy something else is a mistake. Since I am not experienced with the telecaster, can this august body suggest (maybe at lower and higher price points) a model or two from the PRS like that would give him that tele twang? His musical tastes are eclectic but for sure he is a fan of classic rock.
I'll take your answers and suggest he visit Chuck Levins. Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.

I am new to the forum, but just fyi there is a video on youtube where a guy does a comparison of a Vela to a Telecaster.

I just searched Vela, can it do a Telecaster.

I am new to the forum, but just fyi there is a video on youtube where a guy does a comparison of a Vela to a Telecaster.

I'd say the Vela can do Tele-ish. The 594 with LTs can get close if you split and twiddle the knobs. But, nothing does a Tele like a Tele.

I have a friend who loves his tele and wants to buy a second telecaster just to set up in open g for slide. My feeling is always that you should buy what moves you, but to not try a PRS before you buy something else is a mistake. Since I am not experienced with the telecaster, can this august body suggest (maybe at lower and higher price points) a model or two from the PRS like that would give him that tele twang? His musical tastes are eclectic but for sure he is a fan of classic rock.
I'll take your answers and suggest he visit Chuck Levins. Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.

I just posted a similar question about which model can get close to that tele single coil sound. Off the top of my head, I'd think Vela, SAS NF (in the position between middle and bridge NF) and maybe the 408 in the bridge position.