PRS Custom 24 owners? What are your thoughts?

AJT

2017 PRS Custom 24 SE Cherry Sunburst
Hello all! Just discovered this forum and am looking for like minded owners of the PRS Custom 24. I just picked one up and am loving it so far!

I am a Fender guy. I have 2 American Strats but I have been very impressed with this SE model. Korean made and really good quality for the money!

I watched tons of reviews on You Tube as well as playing everything from Gibson high end Les Pauls to Fender American made products and ultimately pulled the trigger on this one. I just loved the way it played and felt!

Any thoughts?

When I got a Custom 24 (which was only a week or two ago) I started playing different and doing things that I haven't done before.

I avoided them for a long time due to a number of prejudices I had against that specific model that I won't get into right now, and now that I have one I regret that it took me so long to try one.

I have two Custom 24s, one is a '95 with a regular neck and the other is an '06 with a W/T. both play very smooth. no complaints. the '95 has stock pickups and switching and sounds awesome that way. The '06 had the HFS/VB combo and was "okay" but IMO played better than it sounded. it had kind of a compressed sound that wasnt really my cup of tea. It still knocked my socks off compared to any other guitar i had at the time. I changed the pickups to a set of P-rails and it was much better. I have been thinking recently that it needs something with a more "vintage" character but we'll see. :)